This one almost doesn’t count except for how I spent damn near $30 here.

Seylou Bakery & Mill
926 N St NW
http://www.seylou.com/

Cost: I honestly don’t remember the exact number but it was too goddamn much

So my first mistake was – as was so often the case – not reading the reviews. I went in, I ordered a coffee and a cookie, and I enjoyed them heartily. The coffee was coffee, ie: proof that god loves us, and the cookie was delightful. Seylou’s gimmick is that they don’t use refined wheat flours, only – and this is a technical term – the weird shit. House-ground  whole wheat, oats, barley, etc. This cookie was straight off some 1960s commune with sorghum and agave nectar, but also it was genuinely delicious.

Unfortunately, then I dug out the review and realized I should have ordered the masala chai and slice of toast, because this place is known for its bread and I didn’t realize you could buy it by the slice.  The whole loaves of bread did look amazing, but they’re upward of $10 each so, no.  I’d also walked from Adams Morgan, via Columbia Heights and Georgia Ave so I was basically starving.

So obviously I got a slice of toast and a cup of chai. The masala chai was delightful; just enough spice with a subtle sweetness. The toast was excellent sourdough, generously buttered.

As tasty as it was, I can’t deny the price and limited selection is a barrier to me going back on a regular basis. But if I win that lottery, they’ll be a regular stop.