My reading habits here in Japan are sort of … eclectic. More so, perhaps, than in the US – there, I can wander to the library and find any of thousands of books which might be to my taste, and know that frankly, I could read all day every day for months and not run out of things to read.

Obviously, this is not the case in Japan. The number of English Language books available is highly limited, and without the ability to read Japanese I am forced to Suck It Up and Take What I Can Get.

Which results in my reading things I might not otherwise have bothered to try, like The Secret Life of Bees, (engaging!) or parts of Eats, Shoots and Leaves. (Less so.)

At the moment, I’m reading a book of essays by David Foster Wallace – an author I always meant to try, if for no other reason than I appreciate a good title and I think Infinite Jest is an excellent title. However, I am not reading IJ. No, in a nod to my childhood, I am reading Consider the Lobster (Hi dad!) and it is, frankly, hilarious. I’m only a few essays in, but he is currently making me genuinely interested in the history of and battles concerning language usage as they pertain to authoritative sources like dictionaries and usage guides.

Which is sort of a long way of saying, Wallace is pretty entertaining, even though I probably wouldn’t have started this if I weren’t bereft of English text, and I will have to investigate his novels when I get home.

