I interviewed for a job this morning, as an office assistant.  Nothing glamorous, but reasonable pay and a three month contract.

I didn’t get it. According to the lady at the recruitment agency, I didn’t get it because the interviewer thought I was too awesome.

I’ve never really understood the whole “you’re too qualified” thing. But apparently – though I have no office experience or receptionist experience, I am too qualified.

The go-between said that the interviewer would have actually been interested in hiring me for a totally different, better position, if I’d had any experience in insurance. It seems I’m at that awkward place where I am simultaneously too awesome and yet also, not awesome enough.

However, I do have work next week – a two day temp job. People should also be coming back from Christmas, hopefully getting back to all the responses to employment postings. *crosses fingers*

